88a4c86580ef0612f60c73f879bae947.jpg

This quote says a lot when it comes to who inspires me. How? The people who inspire me aren’t always the people who fit the typical stereo type. They’re not famous people who have stories all over the internet about their hardships. The group of people I have in my life each influence a different part of me.

The Bestie: We basically grew up together. She knows my crazy family and I know hers. We have seen each other struggle, and I always think to myself that she has to be one of the strongest people I’ve ever met. She is hilarious, but also the most logical woman I’ve ever known. With her I can joke around about all kinds of things that bother me without it being taken the wrong way. She also is not afraid to do the all caps thing when I tell her I need motivation. She basically yells at me, but it gets the job done, and neither of us get bent out of shape over it. She’s AWESOME!

Then there are these teens in my life that just recently hounded me as soon as I pulled up at my mother’s house the other day (They were like YAY! She’s here!! The rest of the family was like, eh, she’s late again LOL.) These two teenagers are my cousins, yet they are about 15-20 years younger than I am. They inspire me because I have no idea why they love me so much. I love them, of course, because they remind me to have fun by being their goofy selves, and even though I don’t get to see them as much as I’d like to, they are still looking up to me. That’s a responsibility I forget about sometimes (Yikes! And I’m a mother!! LOL). They are still open-minded about who they want to be, and I think as we get older we need to know we can change our minds about that, too.

My Mother: I could go on and on about my mother, and that’s why I didn’t start out with her first. She astonishes me. She pushes herself when she doesn’t really feel like it-and not just getting up in the morning, but all day long. She takes care of people who aren’t her responsibility and those who are. She knows what hardship is, and she knows how to get through it. My mother is a pure bred #survivor. She has the same strength my late grandmother had (and by the way, it’s her birthday today! Happy 74th in heaven!). Always a fighter, and don’t tell her she can’t do something. You’ll regret it. The women in my family are all like that. They are feisty and I love it. Plus, hands down, my mom has the best biscuits and gravy!

And then there’s the man in my life.

He is not perfect, as no one is, and I have given deep thought lately as to what it is I enjoy so much about being with him. We share some of the same passions (and our conversations are infused with them which is a big plus), and my creative energy goes through the roof when we spend time together. I love it when that happens, but I also like that I don’t have to spend tons of time with him. He has a full and busy life and he doesn’t “need” me or drag me down. He respects himself, and does not apologize for meeting his own needs-like needing his own space. As someone who has struggled with detachment, this helps tremendously because I get to have my space, too. He’s also gentle, which is not something I saw from men while I was growing up. It’s in his words, the way he speaks and the way he listens. He encourages me to be the person I am, the person I want to be, without sacrificing any of it for anyone else, including him. With him, I’m always free.

 

 

Comments Welcome

